Fav (1).png

   DEMANDS

SURVEY FOR THE RISE UP FOR CHANGE DEMANDS 2021

Demands addressed to bank employees and managers

Demands addressed to the Swiss National Bank (SNB), FINMA and federal and cantonal authorities (6)

This year we have set ourselves the goal of making our campaign as inclusive and diverse as possible. For this we have a survey, from which we hope for the broadest possible feedback from the movements, from allied organizations, but also from civil society - so that YOU can really stand behind the action. In doing so, we try to have few and very specific demands, to be taken more seriously and to have more impact.

 

 

 

 


 



 

 

 

1. Transparency: Immediate disclosure of all financial flows and their impact on planetary limits. (2)

2. No new investments that cause emissions (3): From now on, new investments must be climate-friendly (4).

3. Net 0 by 2030: Reduction of greenhouse gas emissions caused by financial flows and previous investments to net 0 by 2030. (5)





 

 

1. The SNB fulfills all the requirements of banks and is setting a positive example.

2. The SNB and FINMA
regulate the banks in such a way that climate-friendly investments are worthwhile. (7)

3. The SNB makes much more of its enormous profits (our common wealth) available for the
common good . (8)

4. Federal and cantonal climate assemblies , which are based on the principle of climate justice, now decide on the use of the National Bank's profits. (9)


 



1. Whistle-blowing: Inform the public about climate-hostile financing as long as the bank does not do it itself.

2. Self-reflection: Can I really take responsibility for the destruction of livelihoods by my employer and take part?

3. Organization in unions or local collectives so that there is a shift in power within the bank.

4. Paying one's own bonuses or wage surpluses into a joint account , the use of which is determined by a climate assembly in accordance with the principle of climate justice. (10)

DRAFT OF OUR DEMANDS

Demands addressed to the Swiss National Bank (SNB), FINMA and federal and cantonal authorities (6):

Here you can find the demands in other languages:

Thank you for joining in <3

PS.: This survey is public so feel free to share it with people outside the "bubble". The goal is to get encourage the discourse about the financial sector as soon as possible.

Footnotes:

2) We want to know how much money flows into which sectors, industries and countries, and what impact these investments have on planetary boundaries (e.g. greenhouse gas emissions, biodiversity, land use, see https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/
Planetary_boundaries).

 

3) Compliance with the International Energy Agency's recent conclusions, which stipulate NO financing of new fossil fuel projects as of 2021, to have a chance of limiting global temperature increase to 1.50 C. in 2050.

 

4)Climate justice requires a response to the climate challenge that takes into account its consequences for those most affected, especially in the global south, further generations, and a special effort from those responsible for this crisis.

 

5)This applies to domestic and foreign finance, investments and insurance services that lead directly or indirectly to greenhouse gas emissions. Establishment of a reduction path with clear measures by the end of 2021. See page 10-14:
https://admin.climate-prod.ch/uploads/
DE_Argumentarium
_f20380a09b.pdf

 

6)The federal authorities must if necessary oblige SNB (and FINMA, the financial regulator) to respect the Paris Agreements and its mandate "to serve the interests of the country as a whole". Cantonal authorities must intervene as principal shareholders of SNB.

 

7)Financial regulation and banking policies of SNB and FINMA must dissuade private banks from fossil fuel investments, and encourage investment in low yield and long term investments favourable for the climate. 

 

8)The huge holdings (1000 billion CHF)  of SNB  - our common fortune - must be used for the public good by: a) climate positive investment policies; b) greatly enlarged distributions to the Federal government and Cantons from annual surplus profits, in order to finance the urgent social and energy transition, and to take responsibility for the climate chaos rich countries have provoked in the Global South. This source would involve neither additional taxation nor debt for our collectivities. Today, only 6 out of 40 billion are distributed, although legally two thirds should be; c) financing, and if it becomes necessary, by specific credit creation.

 

9)A first step towards the necessary democratisation​​​​​​​ of finance must be taken: We propose the organisation of Citizen's Assemblies in each canton, in order to propose a budget for the social and economic transition, to be financed notably by the additional billions of francs of the SNB.

10Interested bank employees can find corresponding account details under the following page: riseupforchange.ch/jointaccount
Of course, the giving persons can also participate in the climate assembly that negotiates​​​​​​​ about its use.

Fav (1).png

FORDERUNGEN

UMFRAGE ZU DEN RISE UP FOR CHANGE FORDERUNGEN 2021

Forderungen an Bankangestellte und -manager*innen

Forderungen an Banken, Versicherungen und Pensionskassen

Wir haben uns dieses Jahr zum Ziel gesetzt unsere Kampagne so inklusiv und divers zu gestalten wie möglich. Dafür haben wir ein Umfrage, von der  erhoffen wir uns ein möglichst breites Feedback aus den Bewegungen, aus verbündeten Organisationen, aber auch aus der Zivilgesellschaft – damit DU auch wirklich hinter der Aktion stehen kannst. Dabei versuchen wir, wenige und sehr konkrete Forderungen zu haben, ernster genommen zu werden und mehr Wirkung zu haben.
 

 

 

 

 

 



 


 
1. Transparenz: Sofortige Offenlegung aller Finanzflüsse und deren Einfluss auf die planetaren Belastbarkeitsgrenzen. (2)

2. Keine neuen emissionsverursachenden Investitionen (3): Ab sofort müssen neue Investitionen klimagerecht (4) sein.

3. Netto 0 bis 2030: Reduktion der durch Finanzströme und bisherige Investitionen verursachten Treibhausgasemissionen auf netto 0 bis 2030. (5)






 

 

1. Die SNB erfüllt alle Forderungen an Banken und geht als positives Beispiel voran.

2. SNB und FINMA
regulieren die Banken so, dass sich klimagerechte Investitionen lohnen.(7)

3. Die SNB stellt viel mehr ihrer enormen Gewinne (unser gemeinsames Vermögen) für das
Gemeinwohl zur Verfügung.(8)

4. Über die Verwendung der Gewinne der Nationalbank entscheiden neu
eidgenössische und kantonale Klimaversammlungen, die sich am Prinzip der Klimagerechtigkeit orientieren.(9)



 



1. Whistle-blowing: Die Öffentlichkeit über klimafeindliche Finanzierungen informieren, solange die Bank es nicht selbst tut.

2. Selbstreflexion: Kann ich die Zerstörung der Lebensgrundlagen durch meinen Arbeitgeber wirklich verantworten und mitmachen?

3. Organisation in Gewerkschaften oder lokalen Kollektiven, damit eine Verschiebung der Macht innerhalb der Bank geschieht.

4. Einbezahlen der eigenen Boni oder Lohnüberschüsse in ein gemeinsames Konto, über dessen Verwendung eine Klimaversammlung gemäss dem Prinzip der Klimagerechtigkeit bestimmt.(10)
 

ENTWURF UNSERER FORDERUNGEN

Forderungen an die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB), die Eidgenössische Finanzmarktaufsicht (FINMA) und Politik (6):

Hier findest du unsere Forderungen und Umfragen auf weiteren Sprachen:

Danke fürs Mitmachen <3

PS.: Diese Umfrage ist öffentlich, du kannst die also gerne auch mit Menschen ausserhalb der Bubble teilen. Ziel ist es, den inhaltlichen Diskurs über die verheerenden Folgen unseres Finanzplatzes so früh wie möglich zu lancieren.

Fussnoten:

(1) Klimaallianz Schweiz, Zugriff: 2.6.2021
https://www.klima-allianz.ch/wp-content/uploads/Klimahebel-Finanzplatz-Hochrechnung-1.pdf

(2) Wir wollen wissen, wie viel Geld in welche Sektoren, in welche Industrien und Länder fliesst und welchen Einfluss diese Invesititionen auf die planetaren Belastbarkeitsgrenzen haben (z.B. Treibhausgasemissionen, Biodiversität, Bodennutzung, siehe https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/
Planetare_Grenzen)

(3) Einhaltung der jüngsten Schlussfolgerungen der Internationalen Energieagentur, die ab 2021 KEINE Finanzierung neuer Projekte für fossile Brennstoffe vorsieht, um eine Chance zu haben, den globalen Temperaturanstieg auf 1.50 C bis 2050 zu begrenzen.

(4) Klimagerechtigkeit erfordert eine Antwort auf die klimatische Herausforderung, bei der die Folgen für die am stärksten Betroffenen, vor allem im globalen Süden, und die nachfolgenden Generationen berücksichtigt werden, sowie eine besondere Anstrengung derjenigen, die für diese Krise am Meisten verantwortlich sind.

(5) Dies gilt für in- und ausländische Finanzierungen, Investitionen und Versicherungsdienstleistungen, die direkt oder indirekt zu Treibhausgasemissionen führen. Etablierung eines Reduktionspfades mit klaren Maßnahmen bis Ende 2021. Siehe Seite 10-14:
https://admin.climate-prod.ch/uploads/
DE_Argumentarium
_f20380a09b.pdf

(6) Die föderalen Behörden müssen die SNB (und die FINMA, die Finanzaufsichtsbehörde) nötigenfalls verpflichten, die Pariser Vereinbarungen und ihren Auftrag, "den Interessen de s gesamten Landes zu dienen", einzuhalten. Die kantonalen Behörden müssen als Hauptaktionäre der SNB in diesem Sinne intervenieren.

(7) Die Finanzregulierung durch SNB und FINMA muss private Banken von Investitionen in fossile Brennstoffe abhalten und Investitionen in niedrig verzinste und langfristige Anlagen fördern, die dem Klima zuträglich sind.

(8) Die riesigen Bestände (1000 Mrd. CHF) der SNB - unser gemeinsames Vermögen - müssen für das Gemeinwohl eingesetzt werden durch: a) eine klimapositive Investitionspolitik; b) stark erweiterte Ausschüttungen an Bund und Kantone aus den jährlichen Überschüssen, um die dringende Sozial- und Energiewende zu finanzieren und die Verantwortung für das von den reichen Ländern provozierte Klimachaos im Globalen Süden zu übernehmen. Heute sind nur 6 von 40 Milliarden verteilt; c) die Finanzierung, und falls erforderlich, durch die Schaffung spezifischer Kredite.

(9) Ein erster Schritt zur notwendigen Demokratisierung der Finanzen muss getan werden: Wir schlagen die Organisation von kantonalen und eidgenössischen Klimaversammlungen mit Menschen aus der Zivilgesellschaft vor, um ein Budget für den sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Übergang zu erarbeiten. Dieses Budget soll vor allem durch die zusätzlichen Milliarden der SNB finanziert werden.

(10) Interessierte Banker*innen finden unter folgender Seite entsprechende Kontoangaben: riseupforchange.ch/jointaccount Natürlich können sich auch die gelgebenden Personen an der Klimaversammlung beteiligen.