Fav (1).png

   DEMANDS

Financial flows that endanger the planetary and social boundaries (G1) must be stopped and instead distributed in a climate-friendly way (G2) . Climate justice requires solutions to the climate crisis that take into account the consequences for those hardest hit, especially in the global south. It also demands a special effort from those who are primarily responsible for the climate crisis: the rich countries and their (financial) corporations. In the longer term, the role and functioning of financial institutions should change fundamentally.(6)

Important first steps are:
Doughnut_(economic_model).jpg
PLANETARY & SOCIAL BOUNDARIES

The Doughnut-

Model.

CLIMATEJUSTICE

The needs of all people worldwide, especially those suffering most from the consequences of the climate crisis, must be central.

Our demands to financial institutions (banks, insurance companies, pension funds and asset management companies)

 

1

Transparent financial flows

Immediate disclosure of how much money flows into which projects, industries and companies(7) and how large the associated ecological footprint(G3) is.

2

 

No money for fossil fuels, ...

Immediately stop new investments, loans and insurance services for projects and companies that are active in fossil energies (coal, oil, natural gas)(8), destroy ecosystems and violate human and indigenous rights(9). Existing fossil financial flows must be stopped as soon as possible (10).

No posts published in this language yet
Stay tuned...

OUR DEMANDS ON THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT, THE CANTONS, THE SNB (NATIONAL BANK) AND FINMA

 

1

The SNB must assume its social responsibility!

Therefore, we make the same demands on the Swiss National Bank (SNB) as on all private financial institutions:

1. Transparency of financial flows

Immediate disclosure of how much money flows into which projects, industries and companies(7) and how large the associated ecological footprint(G3) is.

2. No Money for Fossil Energies

Immediately stop new investments, loans and insurance services for projects and companies that are active in fossil energies (coal, oil, natural gas)(8), destroy ecosystems and violate human and indigenous rights(9). Existing fossil fuel financial flows must be stopped as soon as possible(10).

2

Legal Anchoring

The federal government, the cantons, FINMA and the SNB must implement the demands on private financial institutions (A1 Transparency of financial flows and A2 No money for fossil fuels, ...) and enshrine them in law.

3

Use SNB profits in a climate-friendly way (G2)!

The profits of almost 100 billion Swiss francs (12) retained by the SNB should be made available for urgent social and ecological needs(13).

 

GLOSSARY

(G2) CLIMATE JUSTICE
Climate justice claims to think together issues of social justice and environmental protection. Accordingly, those who have contributed most to the climate crisis in the past and currently must also take the most responsibility. The needs of all people worldwide, especially those who suffer most from the consequences of the climate crisis, must be central.

 
donut en.png

The planetary and social boundaries describe the safe and equitable space in which humanity can operate in long term. We use this concept from Kate Raworth's Doughnut Model.

(G1) PLANETARY AND SOCIAL BOUNDARIES
 

(G3) ECOLOGIAL FOOTPRINT
The ecological footprint can be calculated at all levels, whether for selected activities, individual private persons, companies, communities, cities or countries. Contrary to the CO₂ footprint, the ecological footprint also takes into account other environmental impacts in addition to CO₂ emissions.

FOOTNOTES

6 Financial institutions should become pure service providers for a sustainable and needs-oriented real economy rather than using other people's money to increase their wealth on the capital market. They act in the spirit of climate justice and respect social and planetary boundaries. They must themselves be organized democratically, participatively and cooperatively and be owned by the general public.

 

7 This also sheds more light on the active role and consequential responsibility of financial institutions in the planetary and social crisis.

We assume that every financial institution is aware of this, both on the investment as well as on the funding or insuring side. After all, part of good risk management is knowing which sectors, industries and countries your money is flowing into in order to avoid potential cluster risks. Swiss financial institutions should be able to meet this requirement by the end of 2021, as we assume that the information is available or can be processed quickly. This requirement has already been outlined in more detail by the AG Finanzplatz from the Climate Strike: See Argumentarium Klimastreik Schweiz p. 8-10.


8 As long as fossil fuel plants are not shut down and the development of fossil fuel reserves is not stopped, the 1.5 degree warming target cannot be achieved. Even the International Energy Agency is calling for no more funding for new fossil fuel projects from 2021 onwards in order to stand a chance of limiting global temperature rise to 1.5°C by 2050. See: new fossil fuel projects for net-zero 2050 goal: (IEA 2021)
 

9 In order to stop the climate and biodiversity crisis, it is crucial that not only projects and companies working in the fossil fuels industry are no longer financially supported, but also other companies that contribute massively to these crises. As already mentioned in the section on our vision, social justice is also a central concern for us. Respecting human rights and in particular the rights of indigenous people are key first steps.

 

10  In this context, it is important to sell the plants immediately and not to renew existing financing or to terminate contracts at an early stage.

11 If necessary, the federal authorities must oblige the SNB (and FINMA) to comply with the Paris agreements and its mandate to "serve the interests of the entire country". The cantonal authorities, as the SNB's main shareholders, must intervene in this sense. Other central banks such as the European Central Bank are already moving in this direction through divestment strategies.

 

12 The SNB's distribution reserves now amount to around CHF 100 billion, see Finews.com as well as the SNB Observatory 2021 report and presentation on the SNB's profit distribution. According to the economists involved, "the SNB's profits belong to the people and as much of it as possible should be distributed". 

 

13 The existing legislation stipulates that ALL surplus profits of the SNB are to be distributed to the Confederation and the cantons. However, the SNB distributes only a small part of it and retains almost 100 billion Fr. as "reserves for future distributions". In this time of multiple crises, these huge public revenues must be mobilised to respond to acute social and climate emergencies locally and globally, and to take our responsibility for the climate chaos which rich countries have caused in the Global South. One way to do this is through climate funds managed by the people (communal, cantonal, Swiss-wide, global). This idea will be elaborated during the climate camp.

Fav (1).png

FORDERUNGEN

Finanzflüsse, welche die planetaren und sozialen Grenzen(G1) gefährden, müssen gestoppt und stattdessen klimagerecht(G2) verteilt werden. Klimagerechtigkeit erfordert Lösungsansätze auf die Klimakrise, bei denen die Folgen für die am stärksten Betroffenen, vor allem auch im globalen Süden, berücksichtigt werden. Weiter verlangt sie besondere Anstrengung derjenigen, die für die Klimakrise hauptverantwortlich sind: die reichen Länder und ihre (Finanz-)konzerne. Längerfristig soll sich die Rolle und Funktionsweise von Finanzinstituten grundlegend verändern.(6)

Wichtige erste Schritte dafür sind:
Doughnut_(economic_model).jpg
PLANETARE & SOZIALE GRENZEN

Das Doughnut-

Model.

KLIMAGERECHTIGKEIT

Die Bedürfnisse aller Menschen weltweit, insbesondere derjenigen, die am meisten unter den Folgen der Klimakrise leiden, müssen
im Zentrum stehen.

UNSERE FORDERUNGEN AN BANKEN, VERSICHERUNGEN, PENSIONSKASSEN UND
VERMÖGENSVERWALTUNGEN

 

1

Transparenz der Finanzflüsse

Sofortige Offenlegung, wie viel Geld in welche Projekte, Industrien und Firmen fliesst(7) und wie gross der damit verbundene ökologische Fussabdruck(G3) ist.

2

 

Kein Geld für fossile Energien, … 

Sofortiger Stopp von neuen Investitionen, Krediten und Versicherungsdienstleistungen für Projekte und Unternehmen, die in fossile Energien (Kohle, Erdöl, Erdgas) aktiv sind(8), Ökosysteme zerstören sowie Menschen- und Indigenenrechte verletzen(9). Bestehende fossile Finanzflüsse müssen schnellstens gestoppt werden(10).

#EndFossilFinance

UNSERE FORDERUNGEN AN BUND, KANTONE, SNB (NATIONALBANK) UND FINMA

 

1

Die SNB muss ihre gesellschaftliche Verantwortung wahrnehmen!

Deshalb stellen wir an die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB) die gleichen Forderungen wie an alle privaten Finanzinstitute:

1. Transparenz der Finanzflüsse

Sofortige Offenlegung, wie viel Geld in welche Projekte, Industrien und Firmen fliesst(7) und wie gross der damit verbundene ökologische Fussabdruck(G3) ist.

2. Kein Geld für fossile Energien, … 

Sofortiger Stopp von neuen Investitionen, Krediten und Versicherungsdienstleistungen für Projekte und Unternehmen, die in fossile Energien (Kohle, Erdöl, Erdgas) aktiv sind(8), Ökosysteme zerstören sowie Menschen- und Indigenenrechte verletzen(9). Bestehende fossile Finanzflüsse müssen schnellstens gestoppt werden(10).

#EndFossilFinance

2

Gesetzliche Verankerung

Bund, Kantone, FINMA und SNB müssen die Forderungen an die privaten Finanzinstitute (A1 Transparenz der Finanzflüsse und A2 Kein Geld für fossile Energien, …) umsetzen und gesetzlich verankern.

3

Gewinne der SNB klimagerecht(G2)
verwenden!

Die von der Nationalbank zurückgehaltenen Gewinne von fast 100 Milliarden Franken (12) sollen für die dringenden sozialen und ökologischen Bedürfnisse verfügbar gemacht werden(13).

 

GLOSSAR

(G2) KLIMAGERECHTIGKEIT
Klimagerechtigkeit hat den Anspruch, Fragen der sozialen Gerechtigkeit und des Umweltschutzes zusammen zu denken. Dementsprechend müssen diejenigen, die in der Vergangenheit und derzeit am meisten zur Klimakrise beigetragen haben, auch am meisten Verantwortung übernehmen. Die Bedürfnisse aller Menschen weltweit, insbesondere derjenigen, die am meisten unter den Folgen der Klimakrise leiden, müssen im Zentrum stehen.

 
doughnut DE.png

Die planetaren und sozialen Grenzen beschreiben den sicheren und gerechten Raum, in welchem die Menschheit langfristig agieren kann. Wir übernehmen dieses Konzept aus dem Doughnut-Modell von Kate Raworth.

(G1) PLANETARE & SOZIALE GRENZEN
 

(G3) ÖKOLOGISCHER FUSSABDRUCK
Der ökologische Fussabdruck kann auf allen Ebenen berechnet werden, sei dies für ausgewählte Aktivitäten, einzelne Privatpersonen, Unternehmen, Gemeinschaften, Städte oder Länder. Anders als der CO₂-​Fussabdruck berücksichtigt der ökologische Fussabdruck neben dem CO₂-​Ausstoss auch andere Umwelteinflüsse.

FUSSNOTEN

6 Finanzinstitute sollen zu reinen Dienstleistern für eine nachhaltige und bedürfnisorientierte Realwirtschaft werden, anstatt mit fremden Geld ihren Reichtum am Kapitalmarkt zu vermehren. Sie agieren im Sinne der Klimagerechtigkeit und respektieren die sozialen und planetaren Grenzen. Sie müssen selbst demokratisch, partizipativ und genossenschaftlich organisiert werden und der Allgemeinheit gehören.

 

7 Damit wird die aktive Rolle und somit auch die Verantwortung der Finanzinstitute in der planetaren und sozialen Krise besser beleuchtet.

Wir gehen davon aus, dass dies jedem Finanzinstitut bewusst ist, sowohl auf der Anlage- als auch auf der Finanzierungs- oder Versicherungsseite. Denn zu einem guten Risikomanagement gehört es, zu wissen, in welche Sektoren, Branchen und Länder das Geld fließt, um mögliche Klumpenrisiken zu vermeiden. Schweizer Finanzinstitute sollten bis Ende 2021 in der Lage sein, diese Anforderung zu erfüllen, da wir davon ausgehen, dass die Informationen vorhanden sind oder schnell verarbeitet werden können. Diese Forderung hat die AG Finanzplatz vom Klimastreik bereits ausführlicher dargelegt: Siehe dazu Argumentarium Klimastreik Schweiz S. 8-10.


8 Solange die Anlagen für fossile Brennstoffe nicht stillgelegt werden und solange das Erschliessen von fossilen Brennstoffreserven nicht eingestellt wird, kann das 1.5 Grad Erwärmungsziel nicht erreicht werden. Sogar die Internationale Energieagentur fordert, dass ab 2021 keine Finanzierung mehr für neue Projekte fossiler Brennstoffe finanziert werden dürfen, um eine Chance zu haben, den globalen Temperaturanstieg auf 1.5 °C bis 2050 zu begrenzen. Siehe: No new fossil fuel projects for net-zero 2050 goal: (IEA 2021)

 

9 Um die Klima- und Biodiversitätskrise aufzuhalten, ist es zentral, dass nicht nur Projekte und Unternehmen in der fossilen Industrie nicht mehr finanziell unterstützt werden, sondern auch andere Unternehmen, die massiv zu diesen Krisen beitragen. Des Weiteren ist wie bereits in der Vision erwähnt, auch soziale Gerechtigkeit zentral für uns. Das Respektieren von Menschen- und Indigenenrechten sind hierfür zentrale erste Schritte. 

 

10 Hierbei gilt es, die Anlagen sofort zu verkaufen und bestehende Finanzierungen nicht zu erneuern respektive frühzeitig Verträge zu kündigen.

11 Die eidgenössischen Behörden müssen die SNB (und die FINMA) nötigenfalls verpflichten, die Pariser Vereinbarungen und ihren Auftrag, "den Interessen des gesamten Landes zu dienen", einzuhalten. Die kantonalen Behörden müssen als Hauptaktionäre der SNB in diesem Sinne intervenieren. Andere Zentralbanken wie die Europäische Zentralbank bewegen sich durch Divestmentstrategien bereits in diese Richtung.

 

12 Die Ausschüttungsreserven der SNB belaufen sich mittlerweile auf rund 100 Milliarden CHF, siehe Finews.com und auch den Bericht und die Präsentation der SNB-Beobachtungsstelle 2021 über die Gewinnausschüttung der SNB. Nach Ansicht der beteiligten Ökonomen "gehören die Gewinne der SNB dem Volk, und es sollte so viel wie möglich davon ausgeschüttet werden".  

 

13 Die bestehende Gesetzgebung sieht vor, dass ALLE überschüssigen Gewinne der SNB an Bund und Kantone ausgeschüttet werden sollen. Die SNB schüttet jedoch nur einen kleinen Teil davon aus und behält fast 100 Milliarden Fr. als "Reserven für zukünftige Ausschüttungen" zurück. In dieser multiplen Krisenzeit müssen diese riesigen öffentlichen Einnahmen mobilisiert werden, um auf die akuten sozialen und klimatischen Notlagen lokal und global zu reagieren und um unsere Verantwortung für das Klimachaos zu übernehmen, das die reichen Länder im Globalen Süden verursacht haben. Eine Möglichkeit dafür sind Klimafonds, die durch die Bevölkerung (kommunal, kantonal, schweizweit, global) verwaltet werden. Diese Idee wird während dem Klimacamp konkretisiert.